CJIFA 2024 Call for Proposals

Name of the entity
Climate Justice Impact Fund for Africa (CJIFA)
Type of Support Provider
Close Date
Climate Objective
Eligible to submit a proposal
Non-state actors (e.g., academic/research institutions, non-profits, etc.)
Private companies
Co-financing Requirement
Consortium Requirement
Funding Amount
EUR 15,000
Middle East and North Africa
Sub-Saharan Africa
Sectors and Themes
Call Summary
Climate Justice Impact Fund for Africa (CJIFA) is an initiative that accelerates the launch and scale up of high impact, market ready blended climate finance structures in developing economies in Africa.

• Supports robust engagement of communities at the frontline of the climate crisis together with governmental and private sector partners in collectively developing scaling up solutions that enable them to overcome shocks, rebound and continue pursuing goals set by their sub-national governments, national development blueprints, regional and international policy instruments. This fund drives locally-led, evidence based advocacy, by supporting innovative community response initiatives that struggle to attract funding in the traditional donor landscape but are potentially transformative.
• It promotes co-creation and cross-sectoral learning with the private sector, acknowledging that communities need to be involved in the process of finding their own solutions to challenges based on their own contexts.
• Supports joint pilot initiatives (social enterprises) on viable community solutions in adaptation, mitigation and financial mobilization with CSOs and private sector.
• CJIFA will apply its extensive outreach and convening power to catalyze strategic dialogues between communities, CSOs and the private sector. Cultivating relationships over time in order to influence private sector actors to play an active role in promoting communities’ climate resilience.

This funding opportunity is up to EUR £ 15,000 with first time annual grants that are made with the intention of renewing them for multiple years.
Eligibility Criteria
Eligible Countries are:
Burkina Faso, Ethiopia, Kenya, Nigeria, Mozambique, Senegal, Somalia, South Africa, Zambia, Ivory Coast, Gabon, Rwanda, Niger, Cameroon, Malawi, Tunisia, Botswana, Uganda, Gambia, Sierra Leone, Cote D’lvoire, Liberia, Mauritius, Egypt, Tanzania & Morocco.

Demonstration of prudence and efficiency in budgeting will be a key consideration in the overall project assessment. High-impact, result-oriented, sustainability-focused, and cost-effective concept ideas are highly encouraged.

CJIFA evaluates eligible applications based on the following criteria:
• Innovative Initiatives: It supports creative and pioneering projects that bring about positive change in climate justice.
• Catalytic potential: Does the project contribute to climate mitigation and/ adaptation in developing economies?
• Is the project replicable and/ scalable?
• Mobilization: Does the project have the potential to mobilize governmental and private sector partners in collectively developing solutions, and pursue goals set by their sub-national governments, national development blueprints?
• Sustainability: Socio- cultural respect, community participation, political cohesion, economic sustainability, and environmental sustainability. Compliance with the nation's sustainability goals.
• Inclusivity: Has the project included women, youth, people living with disabilities (PLWD), minority groups, and indigenous people.