Global Climate Change Alliance (GCCA+)

GCCA+ (2014-2020) replaces GCCA (2008-2013) with the objective of supporting developing countries, in particular Least Developed Countries (LDCs) and Small Island Developing States (SIDS), in their endeavors to adapt to and mitigate climate change. The three GCCA+ priority areas include:

  • Climate change mainstreaming and poverty reduction
  • Increasing resilience to climate-related stresses and shocks
  • Sector-based climate change adaptation and mitigation strategies

Support is provided though National Programs and Regional Programs, and comes through two pillars:

  1. Forums for political dialogue and exchange
    • Conferences and regional meetings
    • Trainings
    • Research grants
    • Newsletter and annual publication
  2. Technical and financial support
    • Technical support for the identification and formulation of new GCCA+ programmes and projects
    • Ad-hoc support to existing GCCA+ programmes and projects
    • Facilitation of dialogue and knowledge sharing

A directory of technical and financial support programs can be found here.

Support provider 
European Union
Purpose of support 
Project and program implementation
Steps to access  

The GCCA+ follows a demand-driven approach. Governments, regional organisations, NGOs, and other stakeholders can express an interest in receiving support from the GCCA+ to the European Union Delegation in the concerned country. All expressions of interest will be reviewed and ranked in line with the initiative's selection criteria and the GCCA+ index, a climate resilient development index developed by JRC in line with the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs).

More details on how to participate can be found


Climate objective 
Adaptation, Mitigation, Cross-cutting
Sectors and themes 
Oceans and Coastal Resources, Disaster risk reduction, Gender, Jobs and Livelihoods, Poverty
Type of support provider 
Type of recipient 
Public entity at the national level, Public entity at the regional level
Fund size 

Multi-annual Financial Framework 2014–2020: EUR 350 million plus EUR 70 million from 11th European Development Fund Financial Framework for the Intra-ACP component (ACP is African, Caribbean, and Pacific Group of states)

Co-financing required 
Trustee or administrator 
European Commission - Directorate-General for Development and Cooperation - Europe Aid
Contact information
Sign-up for the NDC Partnership monthly newsletter and receive updates on country work, upcoming events, resources, and more.