Climate Change, Agriculture and Food Security (CCAFS) - Policies and Institutions for CSA

The International Center for Tropical Agriculture (CIAT)

The overall goal of CCAFS is to promote a food secure world through the provision of science based efforts that support sustainable agriculture and enhance livelihoods while adapting to climate change and conserving natural resources and environmental services.

FP1’s aim is to assess how enabling policy environments and priority setting for targeted investment can support the scaling of interventions, contributing to food and nutritional security and poverty reduction under climate change. Objectives are: (a) improved priority setting, trade-off analyses, and foresight; (b) improved understanding of effective enabling policy environments; (c) more evidence as to how CSA at scale can contribute to food security; and (d) effectively informed investment decisions. Primary target beneficiaries are climate-vulnerable and food insecure groups, including smallholder men and women, and (via national to global policy influence) the urban poor and broader populations in target countries.

Mode of Support: 
Open to Applications: 
Application Time Frame: 

Not applicable

Climate Objective: 
Both Mitigation and Adaptation
Administrator Type: 
Financial Instruments Offered: 
Not Applicable
Direct Access: 
Not Specified
Fund Size: 

Not applicable

Financing Award: 
Not Applicable
Not applicable
Implementing Entity: 

The CGIAR Research Program on Climate Change, Agriculture and Food Security (CCAFS) addresses the increasing challenge of global warming and declining food security on agricultural practices, policies and measures through a strategic collaboration between CGIAR and Future Earth.Led by the International Center for Tropical Agriculture (CIAT), CCAFS is a collaboration among all 15 CGIAR research centers and coordinates with the other CGIAR research programs.
All CGIAR centers have a stake in CCAFS, and numerous Centers have considerable climate change expertise and activities. CCAFS brings together some of the world's best researchers in agricultural science, climate science, environmental and social sciences to identify and address the most important interactions, synergies and trade-offs between climate change and agriculture.

FP1 works with serveral key partners for research, including Oxford University, IIASA, CSIRO and LEI WUR. FP1 also has strong links with Future Earth's Earth System Governance Project and other partners (Universities of Pretoria, Osnabrück, Indiana). Links with universities (Reading, Cape Town, Leeds, UCI) and IRI bring cutting-edge climates science to bear. Further key partners include regional organizations and international NGOs and networks and links with the private sector.

Steps to Access & Application Procedure: 

Not applicable

Organizational and Decision Making Structure: 

- The Independent Steering Committee (ISC) is the overall advisory body, with CIAT Board taking final decisions on the Program of Work and Budget (POWB) in line with its fiduciary responsibility.
- The ISC will have 7 independent members with gender

Monitoring and Reporting Procedures: 

Priorities and Policies for CSA seeks to improve evidence and tools on enabling policy environments and priority-setting for targeted investment to support the scaling of CSA technologies to ultimately contribute to food and nutritional security under climate change. The Flagship Leader is based at ILRI. The Flagship includes a cross-CRP Learning Platform on Ex-ante evaluation and decision support for climate-smart options (LP1).

Co-financing Requirements (if applicable): 

Not applicable.

Other Eligibility Criteria Beyond Geography and Income: 

Not applicable

Contact Information

Flagship 1 Priorities and Policies for CSA
International Livestock Research Institute (ILRI)
ILRI, P.O. Box 30709
Nairobi, Kenya
Contact Person:
Philip Thornton

Last Updated: 
Download All Data
Sectors & Topics: 
Eligible Countries and Geographic Regions: 
Active in Countries: 
Burkina Faso
Lao People's Democratic Republic (the)
Niger (the)
Tanzania (United Republic of)